艺术 & 手工艺

“生活 - JEAN-CHARLES CARDOSO 的雕刻艺术”





艺术 & 手工艺
- JEAN-CHARLES CCARDOSO的雕刻艺术

article-image

Jean-Charles Cardoso生于1965年,出生在葡萄牙的里斯本,早期对艺术和工艺产生热爱,他的父亲是一位石材雕刻师,他和她的父亲共度了很多时光。对创意的早期迷恋使他想要学习艺术和建筑,产生了不断去创造的渴望,并对把雕塑的热情带入到了自己的生活之中。

Jean-Charles Cardoso
Jean-Charles Cardoso

Jean-Charles Cardoso有机会成为大师级工匠Maurice Augier的学徒,学会了古代雕刻技术的原理和石材雕刻工艺的技能,以及在石材上留下刻印的重要性。1984年,他获得了毕业证书并且移居到法国,实现了成为石材雕刻师的梦想。

不久之后,他开始了自己的成功创作生涯,并于1993年受命在沙特阿拉伯为法赫德·本·阿卜杜勒-阿齐兹·阿勒沙特国王创建壁画,并于2000年被授予法国最佳工匠奖(大理石类)。 2003年下半年,他获得了学会的文凭和金牌。

艺术家、手工艺人和现在受到称赞的Jean-Charles院士是他艺术形式的完美主义者,他的作品凭借无穷的才华将我们带入到他那不可思议的动物和自然世界。如今,Jean-Charles Cardoso受到世界各地人们的追捧,而 QCEG 杂志荣幸地采访了这位杰出的艺术家。

interview

请告诉我们您是如何了解到自己想成为一名艺术家的?

无论是建筑、装修或是装饰,我一直都被艺术创作所吸引。我渴望从原材料中创造一些事物的愿望很早就出现了,我觉得自己像一个很小的艺术家,却无法用语言表达出来。

当您决定跟随自己的艺术家之路时,是否有一个关键时刻?

在导师Maurice Augier那里完成培训后,我意识到自己能够“阅读”这块石头,并将其视为一项需要完成的事情。严格来说,这不是关键时刻,而是我很长时间以来一直专注的感受。

向我们来讲讲您的工作!

对于我来说,艺术代表着自由,没有规则和规范的自由。这也是为什么; 通过自由发挥我的想象力,一切皆有可能。我看着岩石并将自己的创作形象化;这是我的工作:我删除了材料以显示我的视觉,即雕塑主题。我让我的思想指引我的双手。我一直想探索新的挑战,例如使用新材料。

您可以同我们分享您制作作品的过程吗?

首先,当我遇到一个艺术主题时,我会对其进行研究:它的内在特征,它的起源,它的形象,它代表什么…… 然后,我着手寻找最合适的岩石,有时要在采石场中等待数周甚至数月,然后再进行切割,从密度到纹理等等更合适岩石,最后,如前所述,我去除了隐藏主题的部分,并进行了适当的抛光。每个步骤都是不同的,需要聚焦与专注。做错了一步整个作品就走样了。

您为什么选择与其他媒体一起从事雕塑工作?

正如我告诉你的那样,雕塑是强加给我的,我没有选择它:我倾向于说是她选择了我。此外,我喜欢在无法修复错误的情况下加工石材的困难,因为移除材料后就无法更换了。让我着迷的每个挑战都将我带走。我喜欢艺术,但雕塑对我来说似乎是最苛刻的要求。

您的灵感是什么? 您会说谁影响了您的练习?

著名的雕塑家,例如Rodin,当然还有Brâncuși、Bartholdi和Cellini等等……我从未真正想受到其他雕塑家的启发,即使他们的作品很可能在不知不觉中滋养了我,也没有让我受到影响。从一开始我就希望走自己的路。

您是否有一位自己喜欢的雕塑艺术家?谁又启发了您 ?

 我会说不,因为每个人都有自己的风格,我一直希望与众不同并创造出自己的风格。

您想在工作中表达什么?

 大自然的力量和美丽启发了我。我喜欢在我的作品中揭示这些特征,以表达力量和美感,以表明在自然界中,残酷的力量与美是分不开的。这就是为什么我创作具有纪念意义的作品的原因,这些作品平衡了令人印象深刻的质量和技巧,形式的柔和度以及主题的美感。

您一生中最大的放纵是什么?

对于任何艺术家来说,完成一件作品都是专业和个人的成就。我们在每一项成就上都展示出在技术上有所进步,我们充满激情而不受束缚。如此之多,以至于一旦完成工作,我就会感到空虚,只有一种愿望:重新开始。

在您看来,成为一名艺术家最困难的事情是什么?

我认为主要的困难是为了自我宣传而谈论自己,因为您必须退后一步,对自己和艺术品保持头脑清醒。对于一个艺术家来说,通常很难看到他们,在我的情况下,我的作品尺寸和重量都有局限性,很难暴露出来,当我们看到它们时我的创作就浮出水面,这是我面临的一个悖论。

到目前为止,您在雕塑方面最大的挑战是什么?您最引以为豪的是什么?

我最大的挑战是要根据工作的尺寸以及所用的不同材料(例如玉石)来制作豹头。我最自豪的是与Ramose murex一起赢得了2000年度法国最佳工匠的竞争。这次比赛对我来说是一个重要的挑战,特别是因为这个主题是强加给我的,这加剧了难度。

您的职业面临哪些挑战? 是最艰苦的工作或最困难的客户?

对我来说,最艰巨的挑战之一是在1993年为法赫德·本·阿卜杜勒-阿齐兹·阿勒沙特国王在沙特阿拉伯的800万高空工作,以实现壁画。我一点也不轻松,但是我设法比原计划提前完成了。

在我的整个职业生涯中,我主要留住了2个要求很高的客户:第一个是文莱苏丹,创建了一个带有几何组件的孔雀石桌子,然后是卡塔尔王公,在他位于Rivo de Rivoli的个人公寓中创建了八个浴室(建筑师是 Jacques Garcia)。

 请告诉我们您与Victor Spahn 和 Ferrari合作的情况?

这首先是一种艺术上的相遇。Victor Spahn 和我对现实主义有着相同的热情,从而导致成为印象派。他的运动能力和代表力量的能力是合作的触发力。双方都对赛车运动特别是一级方程式赛车充满热情,我们决定朝这个方向开展一项联合项目。还有谁比前卫和技术先进的法拉利更好,谁能定制一级方程式赛车?选择的型号SF70H是F1世界锦标赛的第70个单座赛车;这是我们致敬的机会。

您对成功的定义是什么?

成功意味着实现梦想,无论发生什么事情,都必须想出一个主意并与之一起生活,因为它永远不会完美。总会有挑战、障碍和不完美的条件。每走一步,就可以学到一些东西,并不断追求卓越。

您想记住哪一件您的艺术品?

当然是LaFéline。这是我的杰作,也是我的签名作品。它使我花了最长的时间,给我带来了最大的技术挑战……并给了我最大的满足。

feline

您将在哪里举办梦想展?

我已经在一些著名的地方展出过(在摩纳哥的卡鲁塞尔·卢浮宫,巴尔·德拉罗斯,但也曾在科尔马的劳动部),但我会坚持在卡塔尔举办2022年世界杯的展览。足球一直是我的激情所在,世界杯是世界上最负盛名的体育赛事之一。我也喜欢与Philipp Plein一起举办时尚奢侈品盛会的想法,因为它具有独特的宇宙和个性。

您的下一个项目是什么?

我想创作一枚巨大的蝎子和一幅音乐画。

艺术 & 手工艺

JEAN-CHARLES CARDOSO的雕刻艺术

生活相关文章

艺术家ANNA PETER-BRETON - 捕捉水彩中的浪漫时刻
阿拉伯艺术家SUZI NASSIF
GWENNOLINE RENAULT - 她与我们一起分享关于改善健康和生活经验
情人节
就地过年!
THE GIFTED PIANIST, FLUTIST AND COMPOSER - YANN CRÉPIN
SCENTED CANDLES
在夜晚点上香薰蜡烛,放松心情
YOGA HAS BEEN AROUND FOR THOUSANDS OF YEARS...!
享受在家中的时光!

QCEG HOME
" 享受在家中的时光!"

2020年4月16日

QCEG HOME - 享受在家中的时光!



read more
独特的艺术,每个人都可以了解这种艺术并与之互动……

RAOUF MEFTAH 与他的书法创作
“独特的艺术,每个人都可以了解这种艺术并与之互动……”

2020年4月8日

RAOUF MEFTAH - OCEAN LETTERS



read more
艺术就是声音

艺术就是声音 “...我的声音!”


2020年3月26日

SARA CORTIULA - 的视觉艺术



read more
Image

HERE IS WHERE WE MEET “回到上世纪三四十年代,企鹅出版社创始人Allen Lane……”


2019年6月2日

企鹅图书 我们在此相遇



read more
Image

SOLOMEO “Brunello Cucinelli 的哲学 & 基本原则:蓬勃发展。

2019年5月6日

SOLOMEO 索罗梅奥也处在科尔恰诺社区中,周围环绕着翁布里亚地区佩鲁贾省的美丽景观,位于意大利中部,直到今天仍保留着重要的中世纪田园风光。

read more
Image

春节“年味” "有没有想过在中国农历新年这样的节日中可以买到哪种糕点和小吃?"

2019年2月2日

北京稻香村 中国南方风味的节日糕点和小吃。


read more
Image

MASHA 巴黎“一个享受巴黎生活方式的新优雅场所......!”

2018年12月11日

无论您想在餐厅用餐、聚会和跳舞,还是在酒吧品尝鸡尾酒,美丽的夜晚都会在MASHA开始。

read more
Image

COUSU-MAIN CUVÉE 由 William Arlotti 担任设计

2018年10月20日

为了创造出值得拥有“高级时装” 标签的葡萄酒Cave Coopérative de Turckheim一直致力于葡萄园和酿酒厂的不断创新。


readmore

QCEG MAG || 生活 - JEAN-CHARLES CARDOSO 的雕刻艺术

ARTS & CRAFTS

“SCULPTURES OF JEAN-CHARLES CARDOSO”





ARTS & CRAFTS
- SCULPTURES OF JEAN-CHARLES CARDOSO

Born in Lisbon Portugal in 1965 Jean-Charles Cardoso´s love of art and craft started at a very young age, spending time with his father who was a stone engraver. This early fascination for creative ideas led him to study art and architecture producing a constant desire to create, and bring to life his passion for sculpture.

Jean-Charles Cardoso
Jean-Charles Cardoso

Having the opportunity to obtain an apprenticeship with the master craftsman Maurice Augier he was taught the principles of ancient techniques and skills in the craft of stone engraving and the importance of leaving his imprint engraved in stone. Now a committed and driven artist and craftsman he moved to France in 1984 where he obtained his diploma achieved his dream of becoming a stone engraver.

A successful creative career soon followed and in 1993 he was commissioned to create a Fresco in Saudi Arabia for the King Fahd Abdul-Aziz Al Saud and in 2000 he was awarded the prize for Best Craftsman of France under the category of Marble works. Later in 2003 that he received the diploma and the gold medal of the Academic Society.

Artist, craftsman and now lauded Academician Jean-Charles is a perfectionist of his art form with work that leads us into his incredible world of animals and nature using his seemingly limitless talent. Today Jean-Charles Cardoso is a sought after artist with a world-wide audience and QCEG had the privilege to interview this exceptional artist.

interview

Please tell us how you understood you wanted to become an artist ?

I have always been attracted to artistic creation, whether in architecture, decoration or ornamental. My desire to create from a raw material came very early, I felt like an artist from a very young age without being able to really express it with words.

Was there a pivotal moment when you decided to follow your path as an artist ?

As soon as my training was completed with my mentor Mr Maurice Augier I became aware of being able to ‘read’ the stone, to see it as a work to be done. There was not, strictly speaking, a pivotal moment, but rather a concentration of what I’d felt for a long time.

Tell us about your work !

For me, art represents freedom, freedom from rules and norms. That is why; by giving free rein to my imagination everything becomes possible. I look at the rock and visualise my creation; it is the work that comes to me: I remove the material to reveal my vision, my subject of sculpture. I let my mind guide my hands. I always want to explore new challenges such as working with new materials.

Can you tell us about the process of making your work ?

First of all, when an artistic subject comes to me, I research it : its intrinsic characteristics, its origin, its image, what it represents… then, I set out to find the most suitable rock, sometimes waiting for weeks, even months in the quarries to find, cut after cut, the block that will suit better : its density, its veining, etc. Finally, as already mentioned, I remove the material that hides my subject and end up with the proper polishing. Every step is different and requires focus and concentration. One mistake and it’s over - you’re done !

Why have you chosen to work with sculpture, amongst other media ?

As I told you the sculpture imposed itself on me, I did not choose it: I tend to say that it is she who chose me. In addition, I like the difficulty of working the stone where no error is repairable because when the material is removed it cannot be replaced. It is each time a challenge that fascinates me, that takes me away. I love art in general but sculpture seems to me to be the most demanding.

What are some of your inspirations? Who would you say has influenced your practice ?

Renowned sculptors such as Rodin of course, but also Brâncuși, Bartholdi, Cellini and many others… I never really wanted to be inspired by other sculptor artists even if it is very likely that their works have unconsciously fed me, nor let me be influenced. Since my beginnings I wish to follow my own path.

Do you have a favourite sculpture artist, who inspires you ?

 I would say no because everybody has his own style and I always wanted to be different and create mine.

What do you try to express in your work ?

 The forces and beauties of nature inspire me. I like to reveal these characteristics in my works to express both strength and beauty, to demonstrate that, in nature, brutal force is inseparable from beauty. This is why I create monumental works balancing the impressive mass and finesse, the softness of the forms, the beauty of the subject. 

What is your greatest indulgence in life ?

 To complete a work, for any artist, it is a fulfilment both professional and personal. We progress technically with each achievement and we live the passion without restraint. So much so that once the work is finished, I feel empty and have only one desire: to start again.

 In your opinion, what is the most difficult thing in being an artist ?

The major difficulty in my opinion is to speak about yourself in order to do your own publicity because you have to take a step back and be clear-headed with yourself and your artwork. It is often difficult for an artist to be visible, in my case my works have restrictive dimensions and weight, it is difficult to expose easily and my creations emerge when we see them, it is a paradox that I am confronted with.

What was your biggest challenge in sculpture so far ? What are you most proud of ?

My biggest challenge was the realisation of the panther head in view of the dimensions of the work as well as the different materials used - such as jade for example. My greatest pride was to win the competition of the best French craftsperson of the year in 2000 with the Ramose murex. This contest was an important challenge for me, especially since the subject was imposed on me which accentuated the difficulty.

What have been the challenges of your career? Hardest jobs or most difficult clients ?

One of the most demanding challenges for me was to work at a height of 8m in Saudi Arabia for King Fahd in 1993 in order to realise a mural fresco. I was not easy at all but I managed to finish it earlier than scheduled.

Throughout my career I mainly retain 2 very demanding clients: the first was the Sultan of Brunei with the creation of a malachite table with geometric assemblies and then the Emir of Qatar with the creation of eight bathrooms in his personal apartment on the Rue de Rivoli (architect Jacques Garcia) renowned for his tailor-made work.

 Can you please tell us about your collaboration with Victor Spahn and Ferrari ?

It is above all an artistic encounter. Victor Spahn and I share the same passion for realism leading to impressionism. His ability to give movement and my ability to represent strength was the trigger for collaboration. Both passionate about motorsport, especially Formula 1, we decided to carry out a joint project in this direction. And who better than Ferrari, avant-garde, highly technical, and who could customise the Formula 1? The chosen model, the SF70H, is the 70th single-seater in line at the F1 World Championship; it was an opportunity for us to pay tribute.

What is your definition of success ?

Success means to live your dream for me you have to take an idea and to live with it no matter what happen because it will never be perfect. There will always be challenges, obstacles and less than perfect conditions. With each step you take your learn something and get better to follow excellence.

Which piece of your artwork would you like to be remembered for ?

For La Féline of course. This is my masterpiece, my signature work. The one that took me the longest to achieve, that brought me the most technical challenges… and that fulfilled me the most.

B

Where would you hold your dream exhibition ?

I have already exhibited in prestigious places (Carrousel du Louvre, Bal de la Rose in Monaco but also Verrone, Colmar, at the Ministry of Labour) but I would stick with an exhibition in Qatar for the 2022 World Cup. Football has always been a passion for me and the World Cup is one the most prestigious sporting events in the world. I also like the idea of a fashion luxury event with Philipp Plein because of its unique universe and personality.

What is your next project ?

I would like to create a monumental scorpion and a painting on music.

ARTS & CRAFTS

SCULPTURES OF JEAN-CHARLES CARDOSO

RELATED ARTICLES: LIVINGS

YOGA HAS BEEN AROUND FOR THOUSANDS OF YEARS...!
Enjoy Yourselves At Home

QCEG HOME
"Enjoy Yourselves At Home...!"


16 APRIL 2020

QCEG HOME - ENJOY YOIURSELVES AT HOME...!



read more
Universal Art Where Everyone Can Identify And Interact...

RAOUF MEFTAH AND CALLIGRAPHY
"Universal Art Where Everyone Can Identify And Interact..."

8 APRIL 2020

RAOUF MEFTAH - OCEAN LETTERS



read more