AIREI 2023春夏 男装系列

“手纺线和手织品”





AIREI 2023春夏 男装系列
“向日葵花园系列”

AIREI MEN




Portrait of DREW CURRY


AIREI - LOGO


Portrait of Drew Curry

DREW CURRY
设计师

@airei.la







“手纺线和手织品”




mise-en-scène 入房间后,我们看到一排排的空床,人们四处游荡,眼前的一切像是在一个宿舍中,我们也被震惊到。拉下被子,我们发现床单下有不同的衣服,然后对下一个床铺做同样的事。

最终,两位男士气喘吁吁从一张床到另一张床取出服装并把它们全都挂起来展示给大家,眼前的服饰就是该系列的每一件作品。这是一个非常强烈的声明,Airei 2023年春夏男装系列的主题。之后,我们解到,这个部分表达出设计师 Drew Curry 在印度加尔各答旅行时遇到的经历和挑战。为了深入了解更多关于这个系列,我们采访了这个向人类伸出援手的不可思议的男士。

他的设计正在成为名人和贵宾的时尚必备品,他们很期待他的设计作品。 Airei 的每件衣服都是独一无二的,包括那些具有相同设计的衣服,但是,基于手纺线和手织布的区别,让一切大有不同。

AIREI 2022/2023秋冬系列,人们可以在全球所有 Dover Street Markets 和其他零售合作商购买,包括SSENSE、H.LORENZO和IF SOHO。



— Suna Moya


Video Preview

Collection Video Produced by Rohan Satyavrata & Logan Lochtefeld

关注 QCEG MAG
AIREI 2023春夏 男装系列
“向日葵花园系列”

INTERVIEW ICON



INTERVIEW ICON

QCEG: “能否告诉我们一些关于向日葵花园系列的历史?”
DREW CURRY: “向日葵花园系列代表了我的很多个人经历和回忆。这一切都始于我的童年,那时我14岁,当时我和我父亲一起去印度旅行。我的父亲在非营利性协会工作,所以我陪同他到被认为是世界上最贫穷的城市之一 —— 加尔各答出差。作为一个在美国长大的少年,我从来没有去过如此令人紧张的地方,也从没有见过如此贫穷的地方。我立即感受到自己生活在一个富裕的环境中,享受着它所带来的所有好处,并幸运地能够拥有如此伟大的父母,z这一切与这些穷人相比,这两者之间形成了鲜明的对比,我仿佛中了大奖。在加尔各答,这里的人们即使遭受生活困难和可怕的生活条件,他们仍然能够微笑。他们物质上贫穷,但精神却如此积极。几年后,我决定回到加尔各答,在 Nirmal Hriday担任志愿者,但它也被称为垂死者之家。事实上,它是特蕾莎修女建立的第一个家园。它确实是一个地方,而且现在仍然是,他们在那里接收来自街头的人,如盲童、老人、孤儿,许多从未有家的人和真正需要特别护理的人。事实上,他们非常接近于进入下一个生命或天堂或你认为死后发生的任何事情的过渡。我的职责包括清洁地板和手洗他们的衣服。这都是非常体力劳动。我帮助人们吃饭,帮助安慰他们。正是这种经历让我着迷。它使我了解到人类的脆弱和力量,我们发现生命和价值的最初那片净土。即使我们在这里只待了很短的时间,但这是一个非常感人的经历。”      

QCEG: “这段经历是如何引导你进入时装设计的?”
DREW CURRY: “我一直是一个有创造力的人,我的想法一直是在艺术世界游动,同时审视人类元素。我想通过我的时装和装置来激发人性。我发现人们通过他们的穿着来投射自己,这影响你的思维。因此,如果有人想穿一件华丽的服装,这就像你自己的形象。你可以按照你是谁,以及你希望人们在这个场合如何看待你来穿衣服,我认为这很美。这是一种选择的自由。Airei 也是如此,但有一个反面,我的服装泄露了人类生活的原始性,有一个快乐和痛苦的故事,使你独特,与其他人不同,因为这是你的故事。通过 Airei,我想强调在服装中重新添加一种人情味。”      

QCEG: “你是如何决定为该系列使用这个主题名称?”
DREW CURRY: “"向日葵花园 "的名字来自我在印度逗留期间所住的公寓楼,它位于一个伊斯兰教社区。这实际上是一个非常令人紧张的地方,因为印度教徒和穆斯林相处得并不是很好,周围经常有不好的能量。有时我觉得最好是呆在床上,不要离开大楼,因为外面的情况很严峻。我想,如果离开这四面墙的舒适环境,我就会让自己处在被攻击的危险境地,所以我想到了对舒适的需求和对安全感的冲动。一旦你通过那个恐惧的屏障,勇敢面对生活和冒险。出于这个原因,我把这个系列命名为《向日葵花园》,重新思考舒适和风险之间的对比,脆弱和坚韧之间的对比。我一直很喜欢向日葵。我觉得它召唤着光明。”      

QCEG: “是否可以谈谈你的设计之初,第一件衣服,以及你是何时决定将时尚作为自己的命运的?”
DREW CURRY: “也许这听起来很老套,但我认为是时尚找到了我。 我的时尚代表了我的所有经验。我觉得时尚就像艺术,表明你对自己的感觉,以及你想如何向别人展示自己。例如,我今天穿的夹克衫,上面的断线几乎是在说我在这里像个仆人,但它代表我生活中的一部分或一种状态。 我设计的第一件服装是在加尔各答与当地的一个裁缝合作。它就是你们所说的 "Kurta",那种带纽扣的长衬衫。我喜欢这个,我改变了领口,重新设计了形状和袖子。它给予我灵感,让我迈出成为设计师的第一步。”      

QCEG: “你使用的是哪种面料,在哪里采购面料?”
DREW CURRY: “ 我使用的大多数面料都是天然的,如 Khadi 棉和丝绸,并且是在我位于印度的社区工厂用手织机编织的。 我喜欢这种材料的质地,特别是有瑕疵的材料,因为这是我对印度的爱的另一种方式。 Khadi 在印度被称为自由的织物。 我也用传统的 Kantha 毯子,它需要四个人大约两周的时间来制作。毯子的外部面料是手工缝制的,填充物是由 Khadi 棉球制成。然后我们把图案铺在这些毯子上准备切割。马甲也是用 Khadi 棉填充,在印度生产。 我们使用了很多来自日本的上等面料,如100%用 Koopa 衬里的羊毛花呢提花布,这是一种感觉像丝绸的天然材料,是丝绸的替代品。我们使用的所有纱线都是在意大利制造。例如,我们使用一半回收的羊绒和一半羊毛。 除了 Kantha 背心和夹克外,所有东西都在洛杉矶制造和生产。”      

QCEG: “ 你如何描述自己的服装风格?”
DREW CURRY: “ 我一直对穿着者对服装的参与感到着迷。例如,口袋隐藏在这件夹克的纱布下面,随着磨损和撕裂,夹克会撕裂,或者随着时间的推移会分解。我喜欢在衣服上添加这种人情味。 事实上,我只完成了衣服的一半。身体才会赋予它生命,并完成这整个故事。 穿着者的工作就是完成这个故事? Khadi 的马甲,很多层的丝绸外套,还有用8层纱布做的衬衫,这些也会随着时间的推移而磨损。我的长套头衫用来自意大利的回收羊毛编织,真个编织过程需要2小时。 另一件我引以为豪的衬衫是用结实的日本牛仔布制作的,背面是用手工缝制的图案。我把它叫做 "保护带"。这个设计灵感来自母亲之家 —— 特蕾莎修女居住的地方,(你可以看到她的卧室)。随着时间的推移,这些脆弱的针脚会被拔掉或直接掉下来。它代表了脆弱和坚韧之间的对比。 我将藏红花的颜色用于我们的品牌形象,因为它在印度非常重要。 在佛教传统中,它代表纯洁的象征。 虽然我知道我是在物质主义行业中制作服装,但我用藏红花来提醒我为什么要这样做。 这也是为什么我们用藏红花线在每件衣服的背面手工缝制了字母A。”      

更多文章 ⟱
时尚



与 ERIC TIBUSCH 的遐想之旅 - 时尚故事开始的地方,也是幻想变成现实的地方

与 ERIC TIBUSCH 的遐想之旅

撰文 SUNA MOYA - 2022年8月30日
“时尚故事开始的地方,也是幻想变成现实的地方”
read more
MARIJA ŠABIĆ

MARIJA ŠABIĆ

撰文 SUNA MOYA - 2022年8月24日
“了解女性之美……”
read more
ZUHAIR MURAD 2022/23 秋冬高级时装系列

ZUHAIR MURAD 2022/23 秋冬高级时装系列

撰文 SUNA MOYA - 2022年7月31日
“将自我表达提升到新高度”
read more
FRANCK SORBIER 2022/23 秋冬高定系列

FRANCK SORBIER 2022/23 秋冬高定系列

撰文 SUNA MOYA - 2022年7月29日
“最初生物”
read more
JULIEN FOURNIÉ 2022/23 秋冬高定系列

JULIEN FOURNIÉ 2022/23 秋冬高定系列

撰文 SUNA MOYA - 2022年7月26日
“最初生物”
read more
STÉPHANE ROLLAND 2022/23 秋冬高定系列

STÉPHANE ROLLAND 2022/23 秋冬高定系列

撰文 SUNA MOYA - 2022年7月20日
“向 Barbara 致敬”
read more

AIREI MEN'S SPRING-SUMMER 2023 COLLECTION

“Handspun Threads And Handwoven Fabric”





AIREI MEN'S SPRING-SUMMER 2023 COLLECTION
“The Sunflower Gardens Collection”

AIREI MEN




Portrait of DREW CURRY


AIREI - LOGO


Portrait of Drew Curry

DREW CURRY
Designer

@airei.la







“Handspun Threads And Handwoven Fabric”




mise-en-scène Upon entering the room, I was taken aback for a moment by the rows of empty beds that resembled a dormitory. People were wandering around and pulling down the covers only to discover different articles of clothing tucked inside each bed. They then pulled up the covers and moved on.

Eventually, two men arrived dressed in white garments, carrying a ladder and wheeling an intravenous infusion drips stand. They looked like people from hospital infirmary and they moved to each bed stopping to remove the garments and then hanging them up on a metal rail which was attached to the ceiling to reveal the collection.

It was a very strong statement referring to the Airei Spring-Summer 2023 Menswear Collection.

We learn later that the installation represents the experiences and challenges that the designer, Drew Curry encountered during his travel to India.

Eager to understand more and discover the collection we interviewed this incredible designer who is reaching out to humanity and whose clothes are fast becoming fashion must-haves with celebrities and VIPS who can't wait to get their hands on a piece of the collection.

For the Autumn-Winter 2022/2023 collection, AIREI's collection will be stocked globally at all Dover Street Markets and other retail partners including SSENSE, H. LORENZO, and IF SOHO.



— Suna Moya


Video Preview

Collection Video Produced by Rohan Satyavrata & Logan Lochtefeld

AIREI MEN'S SPRING-SUMMER 2023 COLLECTION
“Sunflower Gardens Collection”

INTERVIEW ICON



INTERVIEW ICON

QCEG: “Can you please tell us something about the history of Sunflower Gardens Collection.”
DREW CURRY: “The Sunflower Gardens Collection represents a lot of my personal experiences and memories. It all started when I was just 14 when I travelled with my father to India. My father works in non-profit associations so I accompanied him on his mission to Kolkata which is considered to be one of the poorest cities in the world. As a young teenager growing up in the USA, I had never been to such an intense place or seen such poverty. I immediately felt the contrast between my life living in such a well-to-do environment with all of the benefits it brings and being lucky to have such great parents. It was as if I had hit the jackpot compared to these poor people. But even suffering life difficulties and terrible living conditions they were still able to smile. They were so poor yet so generous in spirit. Years later, I decided to return to Kolkata as a volunteer at the Nirmal Hriday, home of the Pure Heart but it is also known as a home for the dying. In fact, it was the first home that was set up by Mother Teresa. It was really a place and it still is, where they take people from the street such as blind children, elderly people, orphan children, many who have never had homes and people that really need intensive care. Actually, they are very close to that transition into the next life or heaven or whatever you believe happens after death. My duties consisted of cleaning the floor and hand washing their laundry. It was all very physical. I was helping people to eat and helping to comfort them. It was that experience that fascinated me. It made me understand the fragility and also the strength of humanity and we discovered the bare assets of life and values. We were only here for a short amount of time, but it was a very moving experience.”      

QCEG: “How did that experience lead you to fashion design?”
DREW CURRY: “Having always been a creative person, my idea has always been to draw the line between the art world while at the same time examining the human element. I wanted to promote humanity through my fashion and installations. I find people project themselves through what they wear which impacts your thinking. So if someone wants to wear a luxury garment it is like a facade of yourself. You can dress to be who you are and how you would like people to perceive you on the occasion and I think that's beautiful. It is a freedom of choice. Airei is the same but with a reverse side, my garments divulge the rawness of human life with a story of the joy and pain that makes you unique and different from other people because it is your story. With Airei, I want to highlight adding the human touch back into the clothing.”      

QCEG: “How did you decide the name for the collection?”
DREW CURRY: “The name of the title "Sunflower Gardens" was derived from the apartment complex I lived in during my stay in India that was located in a highly islamic community.area. It was actually very intense place as hindus and muslims do not get on very well and there was often bad energy around. Sometimes I felt that it was better to stay in bed and not leave the building as it was quite tough outside. I thought that by leaving the comfort of these four walls I would be thrust into experiencing these aggressions, so I thought about that need of comfort and the urge to feel safe and secure. The consequences of life and adventure once you pass that barrier of fear. For this reason, I titled the collection Sunflower Garden rethinking the idea of contrasts between comfort and risk, the fragile with the durable. I have always loved the sunflower. I felt it beckoned the light.”      

QCEG: “Can you please tell us about the beginning of your designs, the first garment, and when you decided it was fashion that would become your destiny?”
DREW CURRY: “Maybe this sounds cliché , but I think the fashion found me. My fashion represents a combination of my experiences. I feel fashion is like art, an indication of how you feel about yourself and how you want to project yourself to others. For example, the jacket I am wearing today with its broken threads is almost saying I am here like a servant but it is a statement piece that is living with me. The first actual garment that I designed was in Calcutta with a local tailor. It is what you call an 'Kurta', that long shirt with buttons. I loved the fact that I changed the neckline and redesigned the shape and sleeves. It gave me inspiration and my first step to becoming a designer.”      

QCEG: “Which fabrics are you using and where do you source the fabrics?”
DREW CURRY: “ Most of the fabrics I use are natural such as Khadi cotton and silk and are woven on a handloom at my community factory in India. I love the texture of the material especially with the imperfections, as it is another way I highlight my love for India. Khadi is known as the fabric of freedom in India. I also work with the traditional Kantha blanket and it will take four people about two weeks to make. The blankets are hand-stitched on the exterior fabric and the filling is made from the Khadi cotton batting. We then lay the patterns down on these blankets ready to cut. The vests are also filled with Khadi and are produced in India. We use a lot of great fabrics from Japan such as the wool tweed jacquard lined 100% with Koopa which is a natural material that feels like silk and an alternative to silk. All of our yarns are made in Italy. For example, we used half recycled cashmere and half wool. Everything is made and produced in Los Angeles except for the Kantha vests and jackets.”      

QCEG: “ How would you describe the style of your garments?”
DREW CURRY: “ I have always been fascinated by the wearers' participation in the garments. For example, pockets are hidden underneath the gauze in this jacket and with wear & tear, the jacket will rip or it will decompose over time. I love to add that human touch to the clothing, Actually, I have only half-finished the garment. It is the body that will give it life and finish the story. The wearers' job is to complete the story? There are vests in khadi, silk jackets with many layers, and shirts that were made with 8 layers of gaze, which also will fray over time. My long pullovers take 2 hours to knit with recycled wool from Italy. Another shirt that I'm proud of is made with strong Japanese denim and on the back is a design made in hand stitches. I call this the "Protection Strip”. The design is of the Mother's House, and it is where Mother Teresa lived, (you can see her bedroom). Over time these fragile stitches will get plucked out or just fall out. It represents the contrast between fragility and durability. I use the colour saffron for our brand image as it is very important in India in Southeast Asia. In the Buddhist tradition, it represents the symbol of purity. While I know I am making clothing in the materialistic industry, I use the saffron to remind me why I am doing it. And that is why we have hand-stitched the letter A on the back of every garment in the saffron thread.”      

MORE ARTICLES ⟱
FASHION



A REVERIE IN THE MAKING WITH ERIC TIBUSCH

A REVERIE IN THE MAKING WITH ERIC TIBUSCH

BY SUNA MOYA - 31 JULY 2022
“Where A Fashion Story Begins, And Where Fantasy Turns Into Reality”
read more
MARIJA ŠABIĆ

MARIJA ŠABIĆ

BY SUNA MOYA - 24 AUGUST 2022
“Understanding The Feminine Beauty...”
read more
ZUHAIR MURAD COUTURE AUTUMN-WINTER 2022/23 COLLECTION

ZUHAIR MURAD COUTURE AUTUMN-WINTER 2022/23 COLLECTION

BY SUNA MOYA - 31 JULY 2022
“Taking Self-Expression To The Next Level”
read more
FRANCK SORBIER HAUTE COUTURE AUTUMN-WINTER 2022/23 COLLECTION

FRANCK SORBIER HAUTE COUTURE AUTUMN-WINTER 2022/23 COLLECTION

BY SUNA MOYA - 29 JULY 2022
“Les Saltimbanques”
read more
JULIEN FOURNIÉ HAUTE COUTURE AUTUMN-WINTER 2022/23 COLLECTION

JULIEN FOURNIÉ HAUTE COUTURE AUTUMN-WINTER 2022/23 COLLECTION

BY SUNA MOYA - 26 JULY 2022
“The First Creatures”
read more
STÉPHANE ROLLAND HAUTE COUTURE AUTUMN-WINTER 2022/23 COLLECTION

STÉPHANE ROLLAND HAUTE COUTURE AUTUMN-WINTER 2022/23 COLLECTION

BY SUNA MOYA - 20 JULY 2022
“Tribute to Barbara”
read more